Buon Viaggio (Bon Voyage)!

20120820-231143.jpg

*** Work in progress! ***

NOTE: Please email me to make sure I have your address because I unfortunately just accidentally deleted all of my phone contacts! Whoops! Jessit3@gmail.com Thanks!

So, I left behind 32 boxes and containers of clothes, books, and keepsakes in my mom’s garage in Bishop and took with me 4 bags (including one small carry on) and a backpack (thanks bro!). My “SmartCarte” luggage pile was taller than me and thus, I received several shocked looks and comments like, “That’s all for one person?!” When I explained I’m moving and it’s all I hope to take with me for two years, the puzzlement wore off of the onlooker’s faces and “Aahhhs” followed.

My greatest fear thus far in this move has been the scale at the baggage drop. Turns out, even after weighing my bags on two different scales, I wasn’t even close to the 50 pound limit. So, on just one hour of sleep, I made an executive decision to save the little sanity and energy I have left and pay the overage fees. Luckily, my school will reimburse me for this.

The Euro-dollar exchange rate is terrible at LAX ($1.41=1€ today) as are the fees (everyday!) but I realize this is just the beginning! The comfort of having a bit of both currencies is worth the money, just as paying for the baggage overage fees was!

As I walked by Duty-Free, I realized how excited, emotional, and Stress-Free I feel right now! Time to take “No Jet Lag” (thanks Angie!) and sleep!

P.S. Thank you Cindy for this phone, which is allowing me to be able to go wireless to record my journey already!

2 responses to “Buon Viaggio (Bon Voyage)!

  1. Wonderful, Jess!! I can just see you with those bags!! Hope you have easy travels. Good luck with your journey and settling in! Yay to stress free! Drink a glass of wine for me!! Xo Paige

Leave a comment